Cauliflower & sweet potato soup

Last July, I promised you more culinairy cauliflower adventures…….

so, after a little break…here we go!

How about soup? Cauliflower soup?

Nice? Yes. Tasty? Yes, definitily. Pretty? Well…..if you like pale…..

I’ve been experimenting a bit with recipes, but somehow the looks never match the taste. Plain cauliflower makes a pale, white soup, adding curry makes it, well, OK, yellowish…..but still.

And then, yesterday somewhat by accident I came up with a recipe that’s both tasty, and pretty (if you like orange). It was one of those, let’s see what we have lying around in the kitchen kind of days. and well – surprise- I had a cauliflower lying around, and a sweet potato ( another thing I’ve started experimenting with lately). Et voila!

soupbythisgreenadventure

If you’d like to give it  a try, here’s what I used:

  • one medium sized cauliflower
  • one rather small sweet potato
  • an onion
  • a cube of vegetable stock
  • 120 ml coconut milk
  • half a spoon of red pepper paste
  • a teaspoon of curry
  • a teaspoon of ground coriander
  • a teaspoon of ground cumin
  • a teaspoon of kurkuma
  • black pepper

And here’s what I did:

  • heated the oven to 230 degrees Celsius and roasted the sweet potato in its skin for about 30 minutes
  • cleaned, cut and boiled the cauliflower
  • chopped and fried the onion, added all spices and pepper paste
  • allowed sweet potato to cool down, then peeled it
  • drained the cauliflower
  • added all ingredients to the cauliflower in the pan
  • blended it smooth
  • and let it boil for a little while
  • filled my bowl and sprinkled on some more pepper – black and red
  • let the rest cool down and stored it in my fridge
  • reheated what was left the next day ( today) and had a warm and tasty lunch

 

This recipe was enough for a dinner & lunch for one (no my kids don’t do cauliflower soup), and it was really thick. You can add more coconutmilk or even a bit of water to make it thinner.

And, the larger the cauliflower and the potato/potatoes, the more soup you will have. Ofcourse. Enjoy.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Cauliflower & sweet potato soup

  1. I had to laugh when you mentioned your kids don’t do cauliflower soup … mine for sure would not either 😉 Although I have to say I manage to sneak a mini-cauliflower into a veggie soup once without too many complaints … 😉

    Like

Leave a comment